Spring into Links


DaffsIt’s almost spring! The daffs are blooming. Winter is gone. (This would be your cue to tell me that you still have ten feet of snow where you live.)

So spring into action and check out the links I’ve collected for your delectation this month

M/M Specific


So why does a straight, happily married mother of three write gay fiction?

Charlie Cochrane explains in a guest post on Raining Men

I’m clearly not a gay man (but then Tolkein was neither ent nor elf and I know Richard Adams isn’t a rabbit).

Out with Slash, In with Non-trad Heroes
How slash fiction influences the type of heroes commonly found in m/m fiction

I bet, per capita, there are as many cowboys in M/M as there are red-heads in het romance (i.e., far more than the current world population supports).

She may have a point…

Publishing

Your Contract. Read It. Really.
Loose Id’s Treva Harte with some sound advice – read before you sign.

The worst time to read it is after you’ve signed and you discover you’re unhappy.

From Britches to Petticoats
Writer Harry Bingham talks about being asked to use a female pen name for a book more romantic than the rest of his output.

Romance, in the eyes of my publishers, was to be written by women, for women, featuring women protagonists, and with women prominent on the cover.

Why should I write a good synopsis?
Malle Vallik, an acquiring editor for Carina and Harlequin, talks about why you should make a real effort with your synopsis.

This makes me wonder if writers understand how many different ways a synopsis is used in a publishing house, so I’m going to list them. I am sure I will miss some but  the most important thing for writers to realize, especially after they are contracted, is that your synopsis is the only part of your writing some people who will work on your book will read.

Why your work never gets read as quickly as you want it to.
Lucienne Diver explains that agents and editors don’t take so long to get back to you just because the wanna mess with ya.

All of the above also explains why we don’t offer critiques of everything we read that we don’t represent. To do that we’d have to take time away from authors to whom we’re committed, and there simply aren’t enough hours in the day.

The role of editors
Juliet Marillier with a writer’s perspective on the role of editors.

I mention this because, of recent times, social media sites and other forums have seen a rise in scathing comments about traditional publishing houses, mostly coupled with pro self-publishing arguments. People who make those derogatory comments generally disregard the huge amount of support a traditional publishing house offers a writer, and completely overlook the critical role an editor plays in helping that writer produce the best book she can.

Ten myths about editors
It’s not all three-Martini lunches and evil cackling while crushing fragile writers underfoot apparently.

Don’t quibble over details unless they’re important details, and by important we mean, “The woman on my cover has three arms.” *

* Yes this has happened.

Publishing: Perfection not required
I think perfectionism is a dangerous quality for most writers. Jody Hedlund agrees.

In that quest for perfection, writers spend inordinate amounts of time on the same book, perhaps even years trying to “get it right.” Sometimes I hear from writers who can’t move past the first book or two because they’re in love with them and want to make them “the best they can be.”


Writing

How I Went From Writing 2,000 Words a Day to 10,000 Words a Day
Practical advice from Rachel Aaron about how to up your word count

Drastically increasing your words per day is actually pretty easy, all it takes is a shift in perspective and the ability to be honest with yourself (which is the hardest part). Because I’m a giant nerd, I ended up creating a metric, a triangle with three core requirements: Knowledge, Time, and Enthusiasm. Any one of these can noticeably boost your daily output, but all three together can turn you into a word machine. I never start writing these days unless I can hit all three.

25 Things I want to say to so-called “aspiring writers”
Chunk Wendig gives his usual shooting straight from the hip writing advice to “aspiring” writers.

Lots of good ideas out there, but none of it is gospel. One person will tell you this is the path. Another will point the other way and say that  is the path. They’re both right for themselves, and they’re both probably wrong for you. We all chart our own course and burn the map afterward. It’s just how it is. If you want to find the way forward, then stop looking for maps and start walking.


Plagiarism

The dignity of labour

It’s been a month of drama, with at least two cases of plagiarism or alleged plagiarism breaking in the romance writing genre. Aleksandr Voinov talks about the psychology of the plagiarist.

Every time they get an email saying “I loved your book” should feel like a red-hot needle piercing their heart. They know they cheated, that they haven’t achieved anything but fooling some good people and wasting everybody’s time. Deep down, plagiarists are very unhappy people, even if they sell a lot of books, even if they get away with it. 


Misc

Gay Marriage will Ruin My Marriage?
Blogger Mama Duck on the validity of – or lack of validity of – arguments that marriage equality will “devalue” marriage. Funny and moving.

I’ll miss my marriage and my husband once this whole thing unravels as a result of some guys with good taste tying what will no doubt be a fabulous knot.

I answer questions about Higher Ground and writing as a guest of my friend and crit partner Teresa Morgan. Find out how I see Zach and Adam! And what the boys would order for a pub lunch!

11 thoughts on “Spring into Links

  1. Oh, great links! SOOOO going into my linkity post next Friday!

    LOL about the number of cowboys in m/m romance and redheads in m/f romance. I think the number of green-eyed guys in m/m romance is massively disproportionate to the actual population, too. :)

      • Ha ha! As a green eyed girl, (physically only, I assure you…) I just found the disproportionate comment so funny. I know two other people with green eyes – my daughter and my father-in-law who is insistent, and very proud, that he gave my daughter her green eyes. Uhh, hello! Waves arms madly…

    • Thanks, Jackie. I build them up over the month, and even put the HTML code around them right away after I’ve read them and decided to use them, so when it gets to time for the post it’s already almost done!

  2. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Land sakes, linkity!

Leave a Reply

