Writing Round Up


Since I just finished a novel draft, I thought I’d do a round up of work in progress.

Just completed, the draft of a novel, Ganymede Tilt. I started it on the 2nd of April, so it’s taken me just over two months to do, including a break for holidays and one when I had a bit of a mid-novel crisis. But I made it in the end. Now that draft goes away for a nice rest and I will take it up later in the year to edit.

Just about to start on the editing of the draft I wrote during NaNoWriMo last year. Its working title is still Higher Ground, but that could possibly change. I am itching to get back to that. I’m very fond of the heroes, Zach and Adam and can’t wait to work with them again.

Meanwhile I’m doing rounds of edits on Stowaway when they come in. That’s due out late August.

And I’ll be starting to do some early planning work on not the next draft, but the one after that! The next one, which I’ll write after I finish editing Higher Ground has had quite a lot of planning work on it already, so I think an outline for it will come together quite quickly. So the early planning work is for a still vague bunny that’s quite a way into the future in my schedule yet, but will take a lot of planning, I suspect, so the sooner I start the better!

This sounds like a lot on the go at once, but compared to even just a couple of months ago when I had a couple of side projects too, this is a very streamlined workload!

The current thinking on whether I’ll do NaNoWriMo this year is ‘probably not’, since I now expect to be ready to write the next draft on the schedule before November. But who can say?

Leave a Reply

