Links are bustin’ out all over

Hello, June! Here’s some links to celebrate what must surely now be the start of the summer at last!

Authors, Please Share Your Intentions
May on SmexyBooks appeals to authors to let readers know what their writing plans are.

Right off the bat I must state that I do not ever believe any author owes me anything. I understand that things happen and life can change and that sometimes a book is delayed, or cancelled even. That said, I also know that somebody who is an author is publishing their books, most likely, as a means of income. It is a profession, authors create a product to sell, and I am a consumer of stories.

10 power lessons about creativity from an unexpected source
Justine Musk talks about what pole dancing can tell you about creativity.

One way to think differently – and more creatively – about a situation is to reinvent the way you view it.

Since a frame is about what you exclude as well as what you include, a reframe can open up new possibilities by showing you something that wasn’t there before, by incorporating new information or shifting your area of focus.

15 things a writer should never do.
Zarchary Petit on the Writer’s Digest blog with a list of warnings!

6. Don’t ever hate someone for the feedback they give you. No piece of writing is universally beloved. Nearly every beta reader, editor or agent will have a different opinion of your work, and there’s value in that. Accept what nuggets you believe are valid, recognize the recurring issues you might want/need to address, and toss the edits your gut tells to toss. (Unless the changes are mandatory for a deal—in which case you’ll need to do some deeper soul searching.) Be open to criticism—it will make you a better writer.

Flawed vs TSTL
Kassa on the Three am blog talking about the difference between characters who can do stupid things and characters who are just stupid.

So clearly flawed characters are much more appealing. I like it when a character has some grit, when they’re not perfect. I’ll even take a raging asshole over perfection. I like it when someone has to struggle, thus making the happy ending more worthwhile. I don’t mind if they change or become better, but that’s not the point nor even necessary. I want the character to have some depth, some angst (of some kind), and something that makes me root for them.

Reality 301 with @heidicullinan
Heidi Cullinan discusses what the latest author meltdown teaches writers.

I think the best place to start in response is to take a moment to acknowledge where this kind of selfish, angry thinking comes from, and like most things gone awry, it starts from something well-meaning. We could build several acres of affordable housing out of the stacks and stacks of books, blogs, and inspirational memes urging writers to write from the heart, to follow your vision, to let your voice ring out and be heard. The problem is that almost always after that advice comes the promise that should a writer (or any artist, really) follow this path of purity, success and happiness will unquestionably follow.

*Pulls Ranty Pants Up* In Which Lauren Dane Discusses Art, Publishing, Trash and Writing What you Want
Lauren Dene reacts to the infamous Kendall Grey debacle.

Um, quit it with the “we” stuff okay, Kendall? Because I disagree that “as authors, we have to decide whether we’re in this business to make art or to make money. We can’t have both” In fact, that’s something YOU have hung around your neck and that’s what’s holding you back from being happy with what you’re doing. Me? I’m over here writing what makes me happy. Creating my art and, as it turns out, making money from it. Seems to me, Kendall Grey is the one here who doesn’t “give a shit about art”

How NOT to Self-Publish: 12 Things for New Indies to Avoid
Anne R Allen with some great advice for anyone considering self-publishing.

Getting Aunt Susie and the gals in her garden club to all write glowing reviews of your opus can backfire, big time. Buying fake reviews is even worse. Ditto manipulating other authors into positive review exchanges. Some writers have even written themselves dozens of rave reviews under various aliases. All this stuff erupted in a big review scandal last September.

Amazon responded by removing 1000s of reviews and banning some writers from Amazon for life. You may not love the Mighty Zon, but it still sells more ebooks than any other site. You’d miss them.

Submission: 6 Rules of Thumb From an Editor-Turned-Writer
Jennifer Niesslein on Jane Freidman’s blog gives valuable advice about how to give yourself the best chance when submitting – beyond remembering to follow the formatting guidelines.

I submit to publications I like.

I don’t submit to any publication that I haven’t read thoroughly, and enjoyed at least 75% of its content. On a basic level, this is a smarter way to submit than to pepper editors far and wide with work that may or may not be a good fit. I want to get published, not grow a collection of rejection notices. I also want my work to be published alongside work I admire.

10 Reasons Not to Be A Writer
Matt Haig gives the 10 reasons why you’d have to be crazy to want anything to do with this writing malarkey.

1. They have bad backs. Maybe not the debut writers, but by the time of their third or fourth novel, they can hardly walk. This is why Margaret Atwood has to be winched everywhere with the aid of a helicopter. It is why Salman Rushdie is eight inches shorter than he used to be. It is why Julian Barnes always clenches his jaw.

On letting go
Intriguing post by Christian Mihai on why you should let go once your book is out and accept that it’s no longer just your book.

The moment you buy any of my books and read it, that’s when that book becomes yours. And only yours. And you can take from it anything you want. You can love it, you can hate it, you can love me or hate me, but at that point I no longer care.

6 Reasons – the value of attending writing events
Liam Livings on what he’s got out of attending writing events. Namechecks me! 😀

3) Writing can be quite a lonely experience and these events brings us together.

Although my friends have taken an interest in my writing to varying degrees, ranging from begging me to read the manuscript and commenting profusely, to not knowing what to say, I’ve found the actual process of writing can be quite lonely: it’s me, my laptop, a cup of tea, and sometimes one of my cats on my lap. I tend to write when I’m alone in the house, finding it helps my productivity. This is contrary to my extrovert personality (I’ve done Myers Briggs, and reading the summary was like they’d got inside my head had a poke around and written the report, rather than me ticking some boxes on a form) where I love interactions with people, hearing their stories, meeting my friends and family. But with the exception of one friend, I had no one I could talk proper geeky writing with – technique, planning, word count, you know the nitty gritty. Not one.

3 thoughts on “Links are bustin’ out all over

Leave a Reply

