Interview with Teresa Morgan – newly published writer

Teresa MorganOr about to be – her first book Plus One is a Lucky Number comes out on 29th of August from Harper Impulse. I’ve known Teresa for years and we’ve been writing friends and beta and critique partners for each other for ages, so I’ve seen this book in its very earliest form and every stage in between, and I can’t wait for the day I see it on my Kindle. I interviewed Teresa a few months ago about being a writer working on the submitting stage of a writing career, so it’s great to have her back as a newly contracted writer with an imminent release!

Over to you, Teresa…


Thank you, Becky for inviting me over to your blog and this time to talk about being a new author! I’m still so excited about this. My first ever book – which you helped beta! – is published 29th August by Harper Impulse, a Harper Collins imprint. This is just epic! (I’m using your word here.)

How important was it to get feedback from other people while writing?

Vital! You really can’t see through the wood for the trees. Or at least I think so. You’re too close to your own writing at times, and you do need someone to say ‘no that doesn’t work’. It’s also nice when they say what they liked, too. Then you know something that you wrote worked too and the way you intended. Your beta readers are better at knowing which ‘baby’ needs to die. They are more ruthless and less attached, and after sleeping on it, you know they’re often right. I’ve also found that when I’ve been stuck at a certain point of the story, bouncing ideas around with your betas is brilliant. They can suggest something, that can get the plot bunnies breeding on a whole new level. I’m so indecisive too. I need encouragement on ideas.

What should new writers be wary of on the road to publication?

I don’t really have many stories of ‘being wary’. I suppose I was very lucky. I think, if I’d been a weaker person I could have been more easily swayed to self-publish, and I’m so glad I stuck it out and persevered. If you really are a good writer, and you have the determination, you’ll get there in the end. I never believed I’d be writing under the Harper Collins umbrella. I’m still pinching myself.

What’s the one piece of advice you’d give to a writer working toward publication?

Never give up! I suppose everyone says that but it is true. I’ve persevered. With Harper Impulse I saw an opportunity as they were just starting out and took it. And I got accepted lol!

What has surprised you since you got accepted?

No major surprises as I’ve had writing friends go through this before me. I suppose the idea that they wanted to change my book name did take me by surprise. It was originally called The Wedding Favour, but the team at Harper Impulse decided Plus One is a Lucky Number is more chick-lit/Rom Com and the sort of title that sells books. I’m not arguing with them. I know they have the book’s best interest at heart. They want it to sell as much as I do.

How do you stay sane while submitting? What’s the best attitude to have?

I’m a grounded person but it’s very hard not to remain calm. I think having a hard critique circle has thickened my skin to rejection. I was disappointed, but like I said above, the key was never to give up. If you’re doing everything right, willing to improve your writing, take on suggestions, and practise your skill, you’ll get there in the end. Those that don’t write, will not get published. You do have to make it happen. You can’t dream about winning the lottery if you haven’t bought a lottery ticket. That’s the same to submitting and getting published. Not sure if I answered that question correctly lol!

What next after publishing that first one?

Well, and this was the biggest shocker of all, I was offered a two book contract. And luckily I do have a second book written but it needs some work. So that’s what I’ve got to knuckle down and do next as the sooner that’s out there the better. I’d give you the title, but it may change. lol! Then, I need to knuckle down and write my next book. Maybe I’ll be joining you in November for NaNoWriMo.

Do you think you’ll work any differently on your writing in the future?

I hope that now I have a contract and an editor, it will motivate me to sit down and write. For those who do know me, I’ve had a tough year last year, and I’ve settled into my new house now, but need to find a routine with my writing. Hopefully with the motivation of royalties I will work at this better now. Someone has invested in me and my writing, and this is very good motivation.


Thanks for answering my questions, Teresa, and good luck with the release and with the next book!

Blurb

plus one is a lucky numberSophie’s going to a wedding where the invite is strictly plus one… but with her single girl status not exactly fitting in with the bridesmaid dress code, and the best man being none other than the ex she would rather forget, Sophie needs a date and she needs one fast!

Luckily for Sophie, her dreamy but distant co-worker Adam Reid owes their mutual friend James big time…and his gorgeousness more than fills the role of the ‘Perfect Boyfriend’!

As they take off to the sunny shores of Cornwall for the wedding weekend, it’s not long before pretence leads to passion and Sophie and Adam must decide; is their relationship real or is it all for show?

Contact
Blog / Website / Twitter / Facebook

Buy links
Harper Impulse
Amazon UK
Amazon US

Add on Goodreads

11 thoughts on “Interview with Teresa Morgan – newly published writer

  1. Great interview Teresa! Never give up is such a great piece of advice for writers seeking publication! I love Plus One is a Lucky Number’s new name! Good luck for Thursday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

