Review of the Year 2013

2013 is almost gone. It’s been my third year as a published writer and saw my 5th, 6th and 7th novel releases from Loose Id. And I’ve started to diversify a bit and work on some shorts. One came out from JMS books in the autumn. So that makes 8 sold stories. And as I sold my 8th novel (out early next year) and completed my 8th NaNoWriMo then it’s been a year of 8s all around.

Writing
This year I’ve released:
Chrysalis Cage from Loose Id The Company Man from Loose Id Patient Z from Loose Id Smoke In My Eyes from JMS Books
 

 

 

 

And I’ve done a little dabbling in self publishing. Which mostly taught me that I prefer leaving all those publishing tasks to other people. But it was fun to have a go at it. If you fancy a little sci-fi in the new year my two self-published books are free!

Shoot the Humans First The Battle of Hollow Jimmy
 

 

 

 
I’ve also written two novel drafts (one the next in the Red Dragon series, coming early 2014!) and two short story drafts. I hope the ones not yet edited will see daylight in 2014. Watch this space.

Events

UK GLBT Fiction meetBack in July I attended the UK GLBT fiction meet in Manchester, which was great fun. I was on a couple of panels and look forward to going to 2014’s event in Bristol.
 
NaNo icon created by KauniimpiminuaIn November I did NaNoWriMo for the 8th time! I finished 50,000 words in November and finished the novel in December. It’s having a little rest now and I’ll start editing it soon. Right now it’s still just called “Sleep Bomb”. I need to figure out a proper title soon!
 

Reading

When not writing (rarely!) I managed to read over 100 books through the year. That’s less impressive than it sounds, as some were quite short. Here’s my top ten favourites of the year – read this year, not all new books. Some definitely not new! It’s in no particular order – aside from the first – my favourite of the year!


 

 

 

 
The Magpie Lord by KJ Charles
Somebody Killed his Editor by Josh Lanyon
All She Wrote by Josh Lanyon
Ghost TV by Jordan Castillo Price
Spook Squad by Jordan Castillo Price
The Dark Tide by Josh Lanyon
Fadeout by Joseph Hansen
Magic Mansion by Jordan Castillo Price
The Green Eyed Monster by Melanie Tushmore
Dark Space by Lisa Henry


 

 

 

 
Yes, I read a lot of Josh Lanyon and Jordan Castillo Price this year. I also started getting heavily into audiobooks – mostly thanks to Josh Lanyon. They are tons of fun. Most of the ones I listen to are books I’ve already read. But the audio always seems to give me a new perspective on the story and characters.

Other stuff

And now and again when not writing or reading, I watch DVDs. My five favourites of the year:
Supernatural: I only just got into this this year – mostly thanks to Tumblr. I watched 7 series in about that many months and now I’m a fan. And a Dean girl. Hot badass guys getting battered and being angsty. Why’d it take me so long?
The Walking Dead: It was on my radar for a while, then I wrote my own zombie story, so I had to wait a bit longer. At last after Patient Z came out I could start to watch it!
The Avengers (and Thor.): So now I get the Loki thing. And the Robert Downey Junior thing.
Sherlock Holmes and Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows: Absurd, but fun incarnation of Sherlock Holmes. And I am officially falling hard for Robert Downey Junior. I have Iron Man 1, 2 & 3 to watch in the new year.
Spartacus: War of the Damned: I knew how it had to end of course, since it was spoilered a couple of thousand years ago, but it still broke my heart.

Supernatural Walking Dead Avengers Sherlock Holmes Spartacus

 

 

 

 

Plans for 2014

  • Upcoming book – Red Dragon #2 expected release in February 2014
  • Get the NaNoWriMo draft edited and submitted.
  • I’m working on a couple of shorts for submission calls
  • Working on an a new project idea I’m not ready to talk about yet!
  • I will write Red Dragon 3 and possibly a spin off book of the Red Dragon series
  • Will attend the UK GLBT Fiction meet in Bristol.
  • Will do a 100 books challenge on Goodreads again.
  • NaNoWriMo #9? Maybe. Too early to say!
  •  
    Happy new year, all! See you soon!

    5 thoughts on “Review of the Year 2013

    1. You know if you do this with 2013: 2 x (1+3) = 8 FREAKY!!!

      Ah, Robert Downey Jr… I got my thing for him in Ally McBeal. He is rather good in Sherlock and Ironman! Are you talking about Avengers Assemble… with all of them in it? That’s a fab movie. I love how Hulk throws Loki around like a toddler having a tantrum with a toy at the end. lol!

      Happy New Year! And congratulations on 8 books 😉 I gotta get working on my second!

      1. LOL, you numerologist, you.

        Yep, Avengers Assemble. Love it. 🙂 Hulk chucking Loki around is funny, but even funnier is when Hulk just randomly punches Thor after they come to a stop in the library. 😀 For some reason that makes me LOL.

    Leave a Reply

    