News roundup

Here we are at the end of May already and I’ve still been crazy busy since my last news roundup at the end of February. So time for another quick run through what’s happened, what’s happening now and what’s going to happen in the future. ::whisks cloth dramatically from crystal ball::

Releases

Cover by Scott Carpenter Book four in the Red Dragon series came out, hot on the heels of book 3.

The Champion’s Secret, which I can best describe as sci-fi sports romance, spins of a character from Book 2 and gives him his happy ending. Can be read before book 3, or probably without reading any of the others at all, because, hey, I’m not the boss of you, am I? You do what you want!

Upcoming releases

Coming June the 16th is Mapping the Shadows, which I finished editing and submitted to Loose Id since last news roundup. Lots more coming about that next month. It was my NaNoWriMo 2014 novel draft. So I think that makes 5 of those that have gone on to sell to publishers. That event can get results!

Immutable cover by Maria FanningAnd then in July my short novella Immutable is coming from Dreamspinner Press in their Bittersweet Dreams line – so don’t expect everyone happily walking off into the sunset at the end. That’s my first fantasy story, so it will be interesting to see how it goes.

In progress

I just finished the draft of another new departure for me – an F/F contemporary. I first did an F/F last year with Loose Cannon, which was about 18,000 words long. This new one is approximately 37,000 in draft and I expect to bring it up to around 40k when I edit. I had more trouble with the “contemporary” part than the F/F part, even though that’s outside my comfort zone. What do people DO all day when there are no aliens to fight or go to a party with? But the draft is done, and now it has a rest before I come back and edit it.

But while it rests, I do not. I’m just about to start writing the draft of a sequel to Patient Z. See, if you wait long enough, everything turns into a series for me! This one follows a different set of characters, facing very different challenges from the ones in Patient Z, in the post-zombie apocalypse world. But there will be some Very Special Guest Star appearances…

Other

HoundFour books of nine done for the Great Sherlock Holmes Cannon Reread. Coming in June, everyone’s favourite: The Hound of the Baskervilles.

Books in general I’m now on 47 read this year. Which is more than I expected. But I’ve still got several long ones on the reading list for this year.

UK Meet iconI’m all booked up for the UK Meet in September. Event, travel and hotel. Eee! Can’t wait to meet old friends and new ones!

And of course I’m already thinking ahead to NaNoWriMo 2015 in November. What shall I write? The one I’m currently calling “Schroedinger’s Corpsicle” for want of a real title? Or the one I may stick with calling “Me and My Big Mouth”? November will tell…

Leave a Reply

