June Books Post

New regular feature! I’ve been posting on Live Journal each month about the books I’ve read that month and a glimpse of what I say I’ll read next month, but who knows how that will turn out?

I’ve been pretty busy this month so the ratio is kind of skewed to audio again. I need to make more reading time! I also need to slow down listening to the audio books as I’m burning through some in a couple of days. That’s not good. Audio books should be savoured. But there’s always a second (and third and forth) listen.

Read in June
Winter Kill by Josh Lanyon The Secret Casebook of Simon Feximal by K.J. Charles SPECTR Volume 2 by Jordan L Hawk The Hound of the Baskervilles

The SPECTR one is actually three books, collected as a set, so I decided to just go through the lot, rather than picking off one at a time. Especially as the first book of SPECTR series 2 is out now and on the list for next month!

The Sherlock Holmes Canon Reread continues with the most famous and maybe the best Holmes story of them all, The Hound of the Baskervilles. Next month I’ll listen to the audio of it.

Audios

Reaper Man Camp Hell Hoarfrost Rag and Bone Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

I’m following my usual trend lately for genres crime and mystery or fantasy and paranormal – or a mix of the two.

Rag and Bone was the last of the Henry Rios series which I’ve done only in audio. It’s an excellent series and the audio books are amazing. I look forward to listening to them again. And maybe reading the series eventually.

Reaper Man is the first of the Nigel Planer narrated Pratchett audios I’ve listened to, after listening to several Stephen Briggs narrated ones. Planer is different, but also really good, so now I have a bunch more Pratchett audios on my Audible wish list.


On the list for next month:

Fiction
Return of Sherlock Holmes Mocker of Ravens Lessons for Idle Tongues The High Window

Jonty and Orlando are back! And so is Sherlock Holmes – from the dead! All series books with recurring characters there. Might sneak in the next Ripley book too. I’m saving the next A Song of Ice and Fire book for later in the summer. The sooner I read it, the sooner I’m stuck waiting for The Winds of Winter!

Non Fiction
How We Lived Then

I’ve been trying to get to this one for ages. I first read it many moons ago and recently got the ebook – which is a lot easier to handle as this book is a brick! It’s long enough I’ll probably still be reading it in August if I do start in July. It’s an amazing book about life on the “home front” in Britain in World War II. It covers everything from the small details of life to the huge social changes it wrought. It’s a one to read alongside the others I think, rather than marathoning through it.

Audios
Welcome Home Captain Harding The Hound of the Baskervilles Audio

I’m a glutton for punishment – Welcome Home, Captain Harding broke my heart when I read it – earning Elliot Mackle a place on my small, highly exclusive list of “authors I love but can never forgive.”

What are you reading just now? What are you looking forward to next month? Summer reading plans? Come and expand my reading list because it’s not nearly ridiculous enough!

4 thoughts on “June Books Post

  1. Just finished The Sculptress by Minette Walters. Nearly finished Us by David Nicholls. About to read The Uncommon Reader by Alan Benett & then onto a deliciously guilty pleasure, Stacey Solomon’s autobiography.

Leave a Reply

