Immutable – a short history and a giveaway

My newest release Immutable comes out on the 8th of July. Keep reading for more details and a chance to win a copy.

Maria Fanning.

It’s sometimes hard to remember the exact moment you got a story idea. But not this one. I got this idea on the 29th of July 2014, at about 6am. I was visiting my brother for a few days and had woken up early on the day I’d later be headed home on the train. Lying there half asleep the idea for the story started coming to me and played out in my head like a half-awake dream.

On the train home later that day I wrote up a long narrative summary of the idea – longhand over several pages of a big notebook. I put it aside for a couple of days and went back to read over it again to see if I still liked it. I did. I made an outline that was very close to the original idea and started writing it on the 2nd of August. That’s a big deviation from normal for me. This story wasn’t in the plan or on my yearly goals list. I had plenty of other stuff to be getting on with. And normally I leave ideas to gestate a while before I write them. But this one I just dove right in and go on with it. Maybe because I knew it was quite short (ending up around 22,000 words) and the draft would only take me a couple of weeks to get down, especially with the enthusiasm I had for it. It was also a departure in that it’s my first fantasy story.

It ended up taking until the end of the month, as I had a couple of breaks for other work. A couple of days after I finished I chose the title. (Seems like the wrong way around!) Then it got to sit for a month before editing in October. Now there was one problem with this story – it’s not technically a romance as it doesn’t have a happy ending. It has lots of sex, so maybe you could classify it as erotica. But that didn’t feel quite right either. I couldn’t shoehorn a happy ending in there, no matter how much I wracked my brains. The story was the story as it first came to me. The ending was – hah – immutable.

The most suitable place to send it in that case was to Dreamspinner Press’s Bittersweet Dreams line. Love stories where things don’t work out for the best the way they do in Romance. I’m delighted they accepted it, and on the 8th of July, just a couple of weeks under a year since the idea first appeared, it will be out.


Immutable

A fantasy/paranormal novella coming July 8th 2015 from Dreamspinner Press.

Immutable cover by Maria FanningEvery night, in the tiny cottage he shares with his dying mother, lonely young shepherd Callum dreams of having a lover by his side. A man to share his bed and his life. One day, as he gathers driftwood on the beach, he finds Breen, a beautiful, naked stranger. Breen makes love to him, leaving Callum certain he’s only a fantasy. But the stunning Breen is there again the next day—fulfilling Callum’s every wish. Then Callum’s hopes are shattered when he learns of Breen’s true nature. Panic and desperation drive Callum to commit a terrible betrayal to try to keep Breen from leaving him.

A Bittersweet Dreams title: It’s an unfortunate truth: love doesn’t always conquer all. Regardless of its strength, sometimes fate intervenes, tragedy strikes, or forces conspire against it. These stories of romance do not offer a traditional happy ending, but the strong and enduring love will still touch your heart and maybe move you to tears.

Available July 8th from Dreamspinner Press.
See the book page for more buy links.
Cover art by Maria Fanning

Want a chance to win a copy? Then leave a comment below and I’ll draw the winner on release day, 8th July at 9am BST.

5 thoughts on “Immutable – a short history and a giveaway

  1. how interesting! Sometimes the stories that stick with us are not the HEA, but the idea that love can outlast an unhappy ending. Looking forward to reading your newest release!

Leave a Reply

