I’m free! Uh-oh.

So it’s been a busy six and a half months. Immutable came out on Wednesday and that was my forth release of the year! That’s been a lot of editing, and deadlines. I think I have release fatigue. 😀

Immutable cover by Maria Fanning Mapping the Shadows cover. Art by April Martinez. Cover by Scott Carpenter Tempting The Stars cover by Scott Carpenter

Now I’m in a phase where I don’t have any contracted unreleased books. Which is a weird situation for us writers. On the one hand there’s a sense of freedom to get on with the new stuff, set my own timetable, and not have to worry that publisher edits will drop on me right when I’m in the middle of a purple patch of writing a draft. On the other hand, it leaves one a bit nervous, with that little nagging voice suggesting I night never sell another book to a publisher again. So in the past it’s always been a big relief when I’ve sold one and I’ve got a pending release.

Patient ZRight now I have a completed novella draft and an in the middle of a novel draft – a sequel to Patient Z! The next draft – to write during NaNoWriMo is starting to tickle my brain. I think it will be around mid to late August before I have the novella ready to submit, so I’m going to try to make the most of this phase of freedom, even if it is nervous making, before I start the nailbiting phase of having a story on submission and then – I HOPE – have those publisher edits and deadlines again.

Don’t forget to check out my monthly links post tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “I’m free! Uh-oh.

  1. Congrats on transitioning to a new phase. 🙂 It’s always nice to get out of edit/production mode and back to just writing for a bit.

    I had three sets of edits/proofs hit me within about ten days, very crazy. I have stories coming out in several anthologies over the last half of the year (or my other pseud does, at least), which is always cool, but doing all the busy-ness of getting stuff out felt like a triple-ack! period, sort of like biorhythms, if you remember that. 🙂 I like spacing things out a bit, but it’s not always possible.

    Angie

    1. I had three lots land on me in that time frame back in April…or was it May I lose track? Anyway. it was crazy. 😀 Yeah, it’s funny how it works out sometimes, all the releases coming together, rather than nicely spaced. The author doesn’t always have a lot of control about that. Just gotta go with the flow!

  2. This might be a good time to send you over the first three chapters of my third book. I need to get them polished for an agent. I will email you 😉 Enjoy this transitional stage 😀 At least you can relax a bit with the summer… if the sun ever returns.

Leave a Reply

