Lucky 7th Giveaway August – contest now closed

The contest is now closed. Congratulations to the winner, Stevie Carroll. Thanks to everyone who took part. Come on back next month for another chance to win.


Feeling lucky?

Time for my monthly backlist giveaway!

It’s simple enough.

  • I’ll post the list below, specifying if they are print or ebook. Maybe I’ll ask a silly question too.
  • Enter a comment below, answer the question, or write a limerick, tell a joke, whatever and say what you’d like to win.
  • If ebook, tell me your preferred format.
  • If print, I’ll only ask you for your postal address if you win.
  • Make sure to put your email address in the email field of the comment form so I can contact you.

Once they’re gone they’re gone! Some might only have one to give away, others more. I’ll run these posts until I’ve whittled down the list and have none left. I’ll run each contest for a week.

Read on to see what’s up for grabs this month. Click on the cover to see more details on the book page.

Ebooks

Dream For Me cover art by Ginny Glass Ganymede Tilt Cover Loose Cannon Cover

Paperback – I’ll post worldwide

Two book anthology!
Two book anthology!
The Company Man Too Good A Man cover by Scott Carpenter Patient Z Cover art by Scott Carpenter

 
 
 
 
 
Today’s question – who is your favourite 007? Do you like classic Connery, or are you all about the up to date with Daniel Craig? For that matter, who would you love to see play the role next?

Leave a comment by 18:00 on the 14th of August for a chance to win your choice from the books above.

Good luck! And if you don’t win this time, come back for another go next month.

11 thoughts on “Lucky 7th Giveaway August – contest now closed

  1. I’m actually not that well-versed in the Bond movies; I’ve only seen a couple of the Connery ones. (I do have a favorite Bond girl, though: Maryam d’Abo is awesome!) I always thought Ewan McGregor would be good, though Tony Leung Chiu-Wai definitely has that suaveness factor…

    1. Ah, Ewan McGregor bringing Scottishness back to the role. πŸ˜€

      I’ve put you in the draw, assuming you want to be. πŸ˜€ Let me know what your choice of prize is. (Clearly I distracted you with all this Bond talk.)

  2. My favourite Bond is probably Sean Connery, but I’m drawing a blank as to what actor I’d want to play him next. Everyone I can think of is either a little bit too old, or not posh enough. Then again, Fettes has been admitting girls for long enough that we could have a female Bond and otherwise stick with canon. Which would make me enjoy the scenes with Moneypenny so much more too. Shall have to ponder some more…

    I still want The Company Man, though.

    1. A woman Bond would be fun. My interpretation of it with the movies is that, since they are not all set back in the 1960s, then this is not meant to be the same man, that is the same individual all the way through. It’s not the James Bond of the Fleming books. I mean what is he a Timelord? It’s more a cover identity assumed by whoever has the 007 designation at the time. Of course this means I have to assume “Miss Moneypenny” is also a codename… πŸ˜€

      So anyway, if that’s the case then the arguments about how you can’t have a woman Bond, or a black Bond etc because that’s not what Ian Fleming wrote, fall over and blow away.

  3. My favourite Bond has always been Roger Moore and I have to admit I’ve not seen any of the Daniel Craig Bond films but he is ruggedly handsome. I have to agree Ewan McGregor would make a really good bond. “Patient Z” PB is my pick.

    1. I have a soft spot for Roger Moore too. He was the current Bond when I was a kid, so he was β€œmy” Bond. πŸ˜€ He brought a great tongue in cheek aspect the role.

  4. For our eyes only (unfinished)

    Bond is considered a misogynist
    And so outdated they sought a paleontologist
    To say why 007 is so enduring
    As well as so alluring

    Then a report was compiled
    To see if Bond could be restyled
    Maybe get rid of the gun
    But that would be no fun?

    Maybe drive an eco car,
    But was they going to far?
    Drink water, not a martini?
    Then what about dressing him in a mankini?

    Maybe a footballer called Becks
    Could take on take on the mantle of Bond next?
    But with plenty of rumours abound
    I wonder who will be found….

    SL Holland August 2015

    1. There is something special about all the actors that have played Bond and I cannot pick a favourite, I hope that it is not a cop out? For the next Bond, Sam Worthington perhaps, or Idris Elba, or Damian Lewis, but I would have liked Clive Owen or James Purefoy?

Leave a Reply

